Welcome to Year 11

Welcome to the Year 11 information

The information here covers (click on the bullet point to take you to more detailed information):

Key Contacts

Pastoral Lead: Mr M Dawson - MDawson@garibaldischool.co.uk / BWest@garibaldischool.co.uk

Student Services Year Manager: Mrs Jewsbury EJewsbury@garibaldischool.co.uk

Please direct all technical queries to your child’s mentor in the first instance

11JW Mrs J Walker JWalker@garibaldischool.co.uk
11KC Mr K Chatten KChatten@garibaldischool.co.uk
11SG Miss S Garforth SGarforth@garibaldischool.co.uk
11KH Mrs K Hudson KHudson@garibaldischool.co.uk
11MS Miss M Scott MScott@garibaldischool.co.uk
11WI Dr W Inglis WInglis@garibaldischool.co.uk

Remote learning

Messages to parents

Recognition

Half Term 2 - six students from the year group have been recognised for the quality of the work they have produced or the positive attitude to learning they have displayed and have been added to the Hall of Fame for half term 2.

Hall of Fame

Name of Student: Cameron Brown

Reason for recognition:

Nominated by Mrs Orme in Spanish:

“Excellent preparation for assessments and an impressive command of spoken Spanish. It has been wonderful to see Cameron make so much progress throughout this half term.”

Name of Student: Keira Darby

Reason for recognition:

Nominated by Mr Brennan in Geography

“For a much improved focus leading to outstanding work in every lesson and improved exam performance in the mocks in Geography”

Name of Student: Holly McGuiness-Lee

Reason for recognition:

Nominated by Miss Richards in English Language

“Holly is just super positive all the time. She gives 110% and always demonstrates all 5 of the ATL strands. A key player in 11A2"

Name of Student: Oliver Priestley

Reason for recognition:

Nominated by Mr West in English Language

“Last week, Oliver produced a convincing piece of persuasive writing about travel in which he used a variety of rhetorical devices, ambitious vocabulary (cri de coeur!) and concrete examples to develop his points. His efforts scored him a Grade 8 for this piece. Well done Oliver!”

Name of Student: Caitlin Unwin

Reason for recognition:

Nominated by Mrs Walker in Maths

“I’d like to nominate Caitlin for her completely consistent application to her work, great ATL, and the fact that she is already performing above her target grade”

Name of Student: Benjamin Taylor

Reason for recognition:

Nominated by Mrs Hutchinson in Biology

“I'd like to nominate Ben for his outstanding attitude, effort and progress in Biology. He wrote a spectacular piece of extended writing about how cutting down on our consumption of meat could help to slow down Global Warming and achieve food security for everyone on the planet. It was fantastic!”